The College of St Mary Magdalene is located in the centre of Cambridge beside the bridge on the River Cam, from which the city takes its name.
The College has its origins in the year 1428 when King Henry VI approved the establishment of a hostel on the site for Benedictine monks coming from their abbey monasteries in the Fenland to study Canon Law at the University.
Visitors are very welcome to look around Magdalene free-of-charge, but it is regretted that some rooms are not open to the public and access to others is restricted. Visitors are asked not to walk on the grass except in the Fellows' Garden, nor enter any staircases except that leading to the Pepys Library. For those wishing to visit the library, please check the opening times.
Magdalene has an interesting and eclectic mix of buildings, the architectural history of which is a fascinating story in itself. A brief account of how the College has expanded over the centuries and how it has come to be is available for purchase. A booklet "Magdalene Described, A guide to the buildings of Magdalene College Cambridge" on which this abbreviated content is based, is available from the Porters' Lodge. An illustrated guide to the Pepys Library is also available.